USDA Announces Appointments to National Potato Promotion Board

Published online: Mar 11, 2019 Articles
Viewed 689 time(s)
Source: Perishable News

Agriculture secretary Sonny Perdue today appointed 31 members to the National Potato Promotion Board. Each representative will serve a three-year term of office.

Newly appointed members representing producers are:

  • Nathan Bender, Bakersfield, Calif.
  • Ed Staunton, Tulelake, Calif.
  • William L. Alderete, Del Norte, Colo.
  • Bevan Lenz, Wray, Colo.
  • Jason M. Tillman, Mosca, Colo.
  • Tyson Funk, American Falls, Idaho
  • Taylor Grant, Rupert, Idaho
  • Braden Lake, Rupert, Idaho
  • Rick Miller, St. Anthony, Idaho
  • Adam D. Nielsen, Jackson, Idaho
  • Jan VanOrden, Blackfoot, Idaho
  • Tanner Whalen, Aberdeen, Idaho
  • Colin Szawlowski, Hadley, Mass.
  • Ryan Crane, Hermon, Maine
  • Jason Walther, Schoolcraft, Mich.
  • Ben Zechman, Kearney, Neb.
  • Leah Halverson, Grand Forks, N.D.
  • Luke Robison, Merrill, Ore.
  • Daniel Gundersen, Burlington, Wash.
  • Rod Schutte, Othello, Wash.
  • Samueal Stahl, Ritzville, Wash.
  • Marvin J. Wollman, Warden, Wash.
  • Jon Gay, French Creek, W.Va.

The following producers are reappointed to the board:

  • Jason Davenport, Bakersfield, Calif.
  • Trever Belnap, Hamer, Idaho
  • Jaren Raybould, St. Anthony, Idaho
  • Steve P. Streich, Kalispell, Mont.
  • Dan Walchli, Hermiston, Ore.
  • Bryan Bender, Chambersburg, Pa.
  • Jordan Reed, Pasco, Wash.
  • Keven A. Thaemert, Quincy, Wash.

The National Potato Promotion Board, which operates as Potatoes USA, is composed of approximately 100 members consisting of producers, importers and one public member. The total number of members fluctuates from year to year based on the production and importation of potatoes. Board members are nominated by their industry and are appointed by the Secretary of Agriculture.

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight of 22 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

More information about the board is available on the National Potato Promotion Board page on the AMS website and on the board’s website, You may also contact Stacy JonesKing at (202) 720-9915 or