New Commissioners Named to IPC

Published online: Nov 27, 2018 Articles
Viewed 557 time(s)

During the Idaho Potato Commission’s (IPC) October meeting, two new commissioners were sworn in and one was reappointed. Shipper Todd Cornelison of High Country Potatoes in Rexburg and grower Brett Jensen from the Idaho Falls-Hamer area will each serve a three-year term. Dan Nakamura of Idahoan was re-appointed and will serve a second three-year term. 
“It’s a pleasure for me to welcome Todd and Brett, two well-respected veteran industry members, to the IPC,” said IPC president and CEO Frank Muir. “As our industry evolves and demand for Idaho potatoes in the United States and around the globe increases, I’m certain Todd and Brett’s experience and insight will be instrumental in helping the brand maintain its leadership position.”

Quality is the No. 1 reason consumers actively look for the “Grown in Idaho” seal. Strategic marketing campaigns serve as reminders to look for that seal. Each year, the IPC launches a new integrated marketing program designed to meet four overarching marketing goals:

  • Stimulate demand for all Idaho-branded potato products domestically and internationally
  • Educate consumers that Idaho potatoes are nutritious, heart-healthy and relevant for today’s lifestyles
  • Build consumer and customer loyalty in seeking “Grown in Idaho” products
  • Increase grower understanding of and support for IPC programs  

These goals are achieved through coordinated advertising, public relations, social media, retail, foodservice and international marketing campaigns.

Nine commissioners represent Idaho potato growers, shippers and processors. They are nominated by industry peers and selected by Governor C.L. “Butch” Otter. The six other commissioners are:

  • Randy Hardy (Hardy Farms), chairman
  • Nick Blanksma (Legacy Farms), vice chairman
  • Ritchey Toevs (Toevs Farm)
  • Peggy Arnzen (Bench Mark Potato Company)
  • Tommy Brown (Lamb Weston)
  • Mary Hasenoehrl (Gross Farms)