USDA Announces Appointments To The National Potato Promotion Board

Published online: Feb 19, 2023 Articles
Viewed 607 time(s)

The U.S. Department of Agriculture today announced the appointment of 32 members to the National Potato Promotion Board. Appointed are 30 producer members and two importers to fill three-year terms expiring Feb. 28, 2026.

Members newly appointed to serve are:

Jim Corneille, Arizona
Trever Belnap, Idaho
Ben Josephson, Idaho
Kamren Koompin, Idaho
Ryan Moss, Idaho
David Mundt, Idaho
Andrew Lee Porath, Idaho
Justin Searle, Idaho
Jennifer Gogan, Maine
Jeff Irving, Maine
Eric Makarewicz, Michigan
Sander Dagen, Minnesota
David Fedje, North Dakota
Casey Folson, Minnesota
Tom Nilson, North Dakota
Troy C. Sorensen, Nebraska
Jess Blatchford, Oregon
Dave Masser, Pennsylvania
Steve F. Barrett, Texas
Rhonda Kleyn, Washington
Juan F. Martinez, Washington
Blake Underwood, Washington
Levi Underwood, Washington
Jake Wardenaar, Washington
Dennis Wright, Washington
Michael Carter, Wisconsin
Charlie Husnick, Wisconsin
Josh Knights, Wisconsin
Kevin Schleicher, Wisconsin
John D. Schroeder, Wisconsin
Aron Derbidge, Importer Member
Kathy DeVries-Ruehs, Importer Member

The National Potato Promotion Board has 127 members, including 121 producer members, five importer members and one public member.

More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) National Potato Promotion Board webpage and on the board’s website

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight of 22 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.

AMS policy is that diversity of the boards, councils and committees it oversees should reflect the diversity of their industries in terms of the experience of members, methods of production and distribution, marketing strategies and other distinguishing factors, including but not limited to individuals from historically underserved communities, that will bring different perspectives and ideas to the table. Throughout the full nomination process, the industry must conduct extensive outreach, paying particular attention to reaching underserved communities, and consider the diversity of the population served and the knowledge, skills and abilities of the members to serve a diverse population.