AGCO Announces Operator of the Year Finalists

Operator of the Year celebrates application professionals for their work and personal accomplishments.

Published online: Nov 20, 2018 Articles
Viewed 738 time(s)

AGCO Corporation announces the four finalists for AGCO Application Equipment’s 13th Annual Operator of the Year. The award recognizes the value of the hard work professional applicators do caring for crops and customers across the country, as well as their involvement in their communities.

Professional applicators spend long hours in the field every season, using technologically advanced application machinery like a RoGator or a TerraGator, to accurately and efficiently apply fertilizer and crop protection products on millions of farm acres, helping farmers achieve their best possible yield. These four application professionals exemplify the best of the application community:

  • Jerry Born, Farmers Union Oil of Southern Valley, Fairmount, N.D.
  • Layne Heward, Agri-Service, Heyburn, Idaho
  • Jason Lane, United Prairie, Tolono, Ill.
  • David Zelhart, Donovan Farmers CO-OP Elevator, Donovan, Ill.

“We are always excited to see the applications come in each year and read about the amazing application professionals out in the field and all the wonderful ways they serve not just farmers, but their communities as a whole,” says David Webster, AGCO’s director of application marketing in North America.  “It is truly an honor for AGCO to sponsor this award.”

Another unique aspect of the Operator of the Year program is that it is open to all ag retailers and custom applicators in the U.S., regardless of the equipment brands used in their application fleets. A panel of judges from AGCO will evaluate finalists based on their performance both in the field and in the community, including criteria such as skill, dedication and customer service, as well as community involvement.  

The four finalists will be guests of AGCO at the 2018 Agricultural Retailers Association (ARA) Conference & Expo, Nov. 27-29, at the Boca Raton Resort and Club in Boca Raton, Fla. The 13th Annual Operator of the Year winner will be announced Nov. 28 at the conference and presented the grand prize, a new Harley-Davidson motorcycle.