Published online: Apr 15, 2008 Alan Harman
Viewed 905 time(s)
Web Exclusive
The Red River Valley Fresh Potato Growers Cooperative in North Dakota has joined the United Potato Growers of America.

The new coop says in a news release that its first meeting is set for April 23 when a board of directors will be elected.

The co-op was incorporated by North Dakota Secretary of State Al Jaeger in December.

NoKota Packers president Steve Tweten led the steering committee that formed the co-op. David Moquist, grower-shipper from O.C. Schulz & Sons, is the acting-chairman until the election.

The move leaves Maine and Michigan as the only major potato-producing states not part of the national cooperative.