Published online: Jul 19, 2013
Viewed 1272 time(s)
Web Exclusive

During its annual meeting, The Washington State Potato Commission (WSPC) elected its new Executive Committee for the upcoming year. Jared Balcom, a potato grower from Pasco, was named chair of the commission and officially began his term July 1, 2013.


Balcom will succeed Bob Halverson who has served as the commission chair during the past year. Balcom is a fourth-generation farmer and began serving as a commissioner of the WSPC in 2005.


Other members of the WSPC's Executive Team include:

*Nelson Cox (Warden), 1st Vice Chair

*Mike Dodds (Moses Lake) 2nd Vice Chair

*Nick Johnson (Othello) Secretary

*Rex Calloway (Quincy) Treasurer

*Bob Halverson (Toppenish) Past Chair


Members of the WSPC Executive Team will each serve within their respective positions for one year. The commission is governed by 15-commissioners from the potato industry. Nine are grower-elected positions and five are appointed positions by the commissioners. In addition, a representative from the Washington State Department of Agriculture also sits on the board. In accordance with its by-laws, the WSPC commissioners select a new chair and other leadership positions on a yearly basis.


SOURCE: Washington State Potato Commission